Being Gay

At what age did you discover, did you know you were gay. How did you feel, what did that make you feel like?

What was the one experience that allowed you to be free to be yourself without fear or shame.

I knew I was gay from early childhood even though I did not come out until I was twenty.

Times were much different in those days back in the late seventies early eighties.

There were many factors that prevented me from being my true self, family expectations, our culture being Spanish and raised Catholic.

There was no place to go for support, nobody to confide in and parents still had ALL the power to punish you as they saw fit.

I wasn’t willing to jeopardize my relationship with a teacher whom I had a great deal of respect for and was probably a safe person in which to share but I wasn’t sure.

Living a lie was tormenting but my life was complicated and that only caused more anguish.

Now there are all sorts of support groups in which young kids can go in safety and confidence.

My gay life is a happy life filled with joy, growth, compability, understanding, compassion, empathy, charity and more love then I could have ever hoped for.

This is my normal life,my ordinary life and the life I was born to live.

Our lives matter and don’t let anyone tell you different.

We have a right to be happy and to live the best lives we know how without shame or having to lie.

My life doesn’t revolve around being gay it’s just a part of who I am, a humane being, a daughter, cousin, God Parent, friend peer and spouse.

My life is the right life for me and being a child of God, I a blessed with His love as well as we all are.

Leave a comment